Leaving Home

It’s an hour (knowing Ionians, it’s probably more like two) from when I leave and I’ve been trying to figure out if I’m excited or nervous or what. A little of everything, I think. I’m not afraid I’m making the wrong choice, though. No matter what happens I know I’ll always have a home here, and having a home where you’re happy, although maybe not completely fulfilled… it’s amazing.

I got up early this morning because I didn’t want to miss any of these last moments. I took a bath in the outdoor tub (now I’m going to have to take baths in a little room- how unpleasant!) and made a bag to carry all the things on my airplane, and took a last walk to the beach. Everything I do reminds me of the past; my first walk, with Connor and Claire, sewing the baby’s quilt, how when I got here I wasn’t quite sure I wanted to take baths outside.

Coming to Ionia has been life changing for me. I’ve learned so much- about communities, about macrobiotics, but mostly about myself. I’ve connected with people in ways I don’t know that I ever had before, and I’ve gained so much. I don’t think I leave any regrets behind. Things that I would do differently now, oh yes, but not regrets.

I told Bruce yesterday that I don’t consider this me leaving; just me taking a long trip. I’ve packed a box of things for when I come back, I’ve left fragments of my heart all over the place.

For all the Ionians who read this; I love you. I consider you home.

Gwendolyn

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carolyn on April 24, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Did you take the photo at the top? It’s gorgeous. Safe travels. I’m constantly in awe of all the things you’ve done with your life since we graduated from UMass, I hope I can see you briefly and meet your amazing-sounding friends while you’re back in MA.

    Reply

  2. Where did you bathe in the winter? I remember living in Connecticut when I was little and we had a big tub in the middle of the kitchen and Mom had to heat water on the stove to fill the tub.

    Reply

    • We bathed outside- it wasn’t too bad because the bath was so hot, but your feet stuck to the ice when you got out of the bath. I thought that was kind of nice… exfoliating.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

