Leavings

It’s been a rough week; I’ve been saying goodbye to people everyday. On Wednesday Alex and I drove his sister Katie and her family to the airport in Anchorage; they’re planning on taking a road trip across the lower 48. It was pretty emotional for us all; for Alex, of course, and for me too, despite how short a time I’ve known them. I got pretty close to Katie, her husband and her two sons during the year I was here and the idea that we’re not going to see each other for a while is pretty hard. Especially her baby, Mathis; I was there when he was born and I’ve helped take care of him a lot. There’s something strangely magical about little babies. Seeing his smile was so amazing, no matter how much time I spent with him.

Anyways, Connor, James, Sam and Cirrus are leaving tomorrow, which is just as heartbreaking, and then I’m off to the conference the day after. I’m seriously thinking of ditching it so Alex and I will have more time to clean the house and I’ll have more time to spend with the children, but I’m supposed to do this stand up comedy thing (unfortunately I’ve got laryngitis, so hopefully that will clear up), so I guess I won’t. Anyways, I have to say goodbye to them at some point, and I’m going to see Alex in three weeks.

Work on the project is pretty much at a stand still. Mirra doesn’t have much access to internet in Wisconsin and we’re pretty busy. Alex and Mirra need to get their applications into Dancing Rabbit as soon as they can; hopefully they’ll both remember to do it soon. Meanwhile I’ve got tons of things to do; packing and cleaning, but mostly spending time with the people I hate saying goodbye to.

-Gwendolyn

One response to this post.

  1. I can’t wait until you all reunite in Falmouth and start your new journey. I’m hoping you will be in Georgia first! What kind of conference are you attending?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

