Break up

In Alaska the end of March and the beginning of April means break up; five months build up of snow and ice begins to melt, turning the world into a slushy-muddy-puddly mire. There’s so much slush and mud on our roads that Alex got our truck, a massive six wheeled dump truck, stuck in the road last night. It rained yesterday too, turning to snow in the evening.

It’s break up for us too; Mirra left early this morning. She’s going to be in Wisconsin for a while, then in Boston and New York before we meet up again in Boston in a month. Last night we hung out together, Alex, Mirra, and I, Katie and Claire and the boys, and it was so sad and happy at the same time, as if, Katie said, we were graduating school and moving on to our adventures. We went for a walk in the twilight, in the snow, all the way down Burdock, and when we got back just hung out near the porch, not wanting to go inside and have the energy we felt between us dissipate.

Mirra’s real broken up to be leaving and I am too. I feel so connected to everyone here that it’s hard to think about leaving. Alex asked me this morning if I thought we could make a community as cool as Ionia and I don’t know if it would be possible. Despite all the reasons Ionia isn’t somewhere where we want to spend our lives, it is an amazingly wonderful place.

Alex and I have a list of thing we have to do before I have to leave for the conference. It looks small and simple but so many of the things on it: pack, clean, move, are huge. Not just because of the time crunch- we have three days- but because it’s the end of this very small part of our lives. Living in this house with Alex (and sometimes Saori) has been really great, and even though I’m so excited to be starting my adventure, I’m also sad to be leaving it. But I’m so much happier to be leaving it this way than Alex just moving to Hawaii and me moving into the Longhouse, no future in sight.

Enough about farewells; Alex and I are in the middle of writing to Koinonia, this super amazing community in Georgia, one that’s been around I think almost seventy or eighty years and has faced persecution and has prevailed. So we’re really hoping to go there and get a good look at what they’ve done and how they’re doing. We’ve got a basic plan for the fall, and are sketching in the winter. Sometimes everything comes together so well I wonder if there might be some sort of destiny at work, which is kind of awkward because I don’t belive in destiny.

-Gwendolyn

One response to this post.

  1. I’m so excited that you might be coming to Georgia! I hope I can come see you and how your intentional communities work. I will be looking Koinonia up soon to see how far it is from me.
    Love, Lolly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

